YouTube: Broadcast Yourself

The world of YouTube is certainly a strange one.

From the ‘clickbait’ titles, to the infamously hilarious yet crude comments, YouTube has it all.

The concept of the site, however, is one of absolute genius. It plays such a huge role in our modern day society, that I can’t even begin to imagine a world where YouTube doesn’t exist.

We have Chad Hurley, Steve Chen and Jawed Karim– three former PayPal employees no less- to thank for this brilliant creation, which was launched back in 2005.

Now, under the ownership of Google, after a mammoth deal worth US $1.65 billion was agreed between the two parties in 2006, YouTube is bigger than ever. Perhaps the amazing thing is that it’s still growing.

Whilst those ‘content creators’ who have been around for a long time are starting to see their numbers plateau, or even fall in some cases, new users and creators to the site are expanding at a rapid rate.

The potential rise to fame, and the money and success that could come with it, is a clear incentive as to why so many people are trying their hand at this non-traditional job. ‘Stars’ such as Zoella and Pewdiepie have shown it’s a very achievable goal.

I can understand the appeal, but I’m not sure I’d have the patience required to succeed. Here’s the video I put together using YouTube’s limited Creative Commons content.

Ground-breaking production, I know. YouTube is a game, but I’m not sure I want to play. I’d much rather sit and watch from the sidelines.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @DannySenior

Leave a Reply

