The Multimedia Story

Fontaine Mica Chapman (ENG) vs Yip Pui Yin (HKG)

Fontaine Mica Chapman has crashed out of the YONEX All England Badminton Championships in Birmingham at the Round of 32 stage, after defeat to Hong Kong’s Yip Pui Yin.

Chapman, England’s highest ranked female singles player, lost in straight sets (21-14, 21-19) to the world number 28, ending her hopes of a fairy tale run in the prestigious tournament.

“Obviously, I’m a bit gutted at the moment”, Chapman said.

“I didn’t really find a good rhythm at all.”

Chapman started slowly in the first set and admitted that she was guilty of not sticking to the game plan.

“I had done the match analysis on her but I think I was almost waiting to see what she was going to do.”

“I wasn’t really dictating the play.”

“There were just too many mistakes.”

However, she can take great heart from the match having competed for large parts of the second set and had no complaints about the result.

“I had a much better second set so I’m pleased that I did manage to get myself into the game.”

“Yin has a lot of experience and she’s a very good player, so it’s not like I’ve lost to some rubbish opponent.”

The loss came after the English number one had progressed through qualifying in fine form the previous day.

She eased past Katerina Tomalova in two sets (21-13, 21-19) before pulling off what many described as a shock win against Airi Mikkela.

Chapman beat the Finnish star in straight sets once again (21-10, 21-10) to qualify for the main draw and set up the big match with Yip Pui Yin.

She was understandably annoyed with herself having played so well in the qualifying round, though.

“It was frustrating because I felt like I played really well yesterday so I thought I could carry that form into today.”

She added, “Sometimes I tried to force it a little bit too much and that almost has the adverse effect.”

Despite the disappointment, Chapman spoke with great optimism about the experience as a whole.

“It’s been brilliant, and these are the tournaments I want to be playing in consistently.”

Next on the list is the Swiss Open next week, and Chapman knows she faces another tough challenge in Basel.

“It’s going to be good to see where I can pitch myself and play against some more players of this calibre.”

“They play at a different level and it’s a case of getting used to feeling under pressure all the time.”

Leave a Reply

